Herons Back in the Playoffs

Look to defend National Title

GENEVA, NY – The Liberty League Championship game ended with the Herons winning 2-0 and claiming their eighth straight league title. The win over St. Lawrence also gave them the league’s automatic berth into the NCAA national tournament.

The Herons have been on a tear as of late, going unbeaten in there last 15 matches. More impressive has been their 12 shutouts, all thanks to the unbelievable fortitude and ability of their first-year keeper, Nicole McGlinchy.

Krista Longo attempts a goal off a header

Krista Longo attempts a goal off a header

Their balanced attack is what many of the players claim makes them better this year than last year’s National Championship squad.

“Our offense this year is clicking, and we have been able to comeback from bigger deficits than we have in the past,” said sophomore midfielder Zoe Eth. “On top of it all our defense is lights out, maybe even better than last years’, which carried us through the playoffs.”

The league has even recognized this year’s squad for its brilliance, with Madeline Buckley being named as the season’s Player of the Year. Zoe Jackson-Gibson was awarded Defensive Player of the Year, and eight other Herons were tabbed for the All-Conference Team. As expected the Coaching Staff of the Year award went to Aliceann Wilber and her staff for guiding the Herons to another successful season.

Krista Longo dribbles through St.Lawrence defenders

Krista Longo dribbles through St.Lawrence defenders

The Herons will be hosting the first and second round games at Cozzens field this Saturday, Nov. 15 and Sunday, Nov. 16. Their first opponent will be Keene State, winner of the Little East Conference, who is making their second consecutive appearance in the tournament. If the Herons win, they will play either TCNJ or Allegheny on Sunday.

If all goes as planned the Herons will host the third and fourth round starting on Nov. 22.

Technical Editor. Main reporter for Sports. Media & Society Major. Writing and Rhetoric Minor. Hobart Football ’16.